Fragile lives

He:  “He is no more!!!”

She : “What? Are you sure? You must have been mistaken!!”

He: “ No dear, calm yourself down!! He is no more!!”

She: “ No, you are lying, this is not true” urges her shrieky voice as the surreal truth strikes her soul.

This happened on 26th April 2009, 09:30 A.M in my life. I lost the most precious person in my life, my father.

As I try hard to stop the falling tears off my eyes, I fondly recollect the incredible memories with him. My father was a great human being. He always spread a jubilant aura around him with his great sense of humor. He was forever positive towards every single thing in our lives. Never did he belittle someone, he knew only to see the good, be it a rickshaw puller or his classmate politician.

How can I not write about those days we watched movies together on the first day, those days he ironed my dresses, those days he pressed my legs, those days he dropped me at the bus stops, railways stations. I fondly recollect one instance when I had a problem with my bike, all I had to do was to call him and intimate him the place where I parked my vehicle and get back home in an auto and forget the rest. The next day morning, I would find my bike shining bright right at the same place where it usually was!!

He was an obedient husband,awesome father, great father-in-law, a humorous brother, humble son and a very entertaining friend. I am sure many of them who interacted with him would not agree any lesser.

While we were two siblings, me and my younger brother, I was the prince for him. The day we lost him was the day many things changed for us as a family. All of a sudden, unexpected responsibilities were expected to be shouldered. I had to juxtapose myself to be the pillar of strength to my bereaved mother, my teenage brother. Life took a crazy backpedal and it did seem horrifying.

The transition period from a lovely daughter to a responsible elder in the family changed me as a person and the lessons were learnt the hard way. My perspective towards life, towards hope, towards faith took a major retraction. If I had to take away one point as a learning, I would say I learnt to live in today. Fragile lives!!! Alas!! Only time enfolds it all….

Unexpected tragedies!!! Irreversible pains!!! Impended responsibilities!!

barathonI am participating in Bar-a-thon. Today is Day 3 of the Bar-a-thon challenge

Today’s prompt: Fragile lives

 

11 thoughts on “Fragile lives

  1. I could really relate with your post. I too lost my father unexpectedly during 1997. The same transistion from sweet daughter to responsible elder sister happened in my life also. Like you, I also learnt a lot to make this fragile life as a celebration. Great post, indeed.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Couldn’t agree more! Very emotional. Will always miss Tatagaru for the person he’s been! Lively and had a forever smile on his face, come what may. Probably, that’s the legacy he’s passed on to you guys too :*

  3. Shilpa Garg says:

    I am so sorry for your loss, Madhavi! You are a strong girl who shouldered responsibilities despite the pain and challenges. Your father would be smiling proudly at you from wherever he is. A big hug to you!

I would love to hear from you!!!

