Change has to come

I am not too sure how many of you know, but I work as a HR professional. I manage the recruitment of a software company. This Monday, I have organized a recruitment drive and have outsourced this to a training institute.

I briefed the requirement to the placement officer and we have finalized the agenda. After few minutes, I receive a call and the placement officer asks me “Madhavi, are girls eligible for this role??” .The question pissed me off. How can one think that girls are not eligible for a role in an IT company and what made the placement officer think that there is a disparity?

I spoke to her in detail and understood there still is a disparity in recruiting males vs females. I was shocked to know this and tried to compose myself after the incident and explained her that we are an equal opportunity employer and would not like to show the disparity at any cost.

Adding fuel to the fire, when I came home I saw this ad from KFJ Jewellers stating “Kalyana Vayasula ponnu irundhaale tension dhaane” which translates to “Having a girl at the age of marriage is a mental tension!!” What the hell ? Yes, that was my first reaction when I saw this ad on the television. It is such a disgrace to the society. Is only having a girl a tension?

When will the change come? When are women treated equal to men? Women deserve equal respect, equal opportunities, equal challenges as men. What makes them less than a man?

On one side, there is a responsible part of the society which is striving to achieve equal rights and fighting for the basic amenities of women and on the other end, these advertisements going on the media/ social media by such brands are highly awful. If these bandleaders can’t bring a change and can’t work towards any of the noble causes, at least it would be good if they refrain themselves from such  disgraceful advertisements.

Note: This is not a sponsored post, it is purely my opinion. Though the intention of the ad could be different, the way the ad was directed was pretty bad. It introduced the girls as Tension 1, Tension 2 which is highly disgusting.

7 thoughts on “Change has to come

  1. Anonymous says:

    Excellent post. I cannot believe such an attitude is still in India in this advanced world. But it goes both ways. I was in India (namma Chennai) for 6 months earlier this year. I saw lot of ads for “female secretary” and “sales girls”.

  2. You ought to have ignored that advertisement. The vendors use such tricks to get their name “viral” — their logic is, no one will remember this incident after sometime, but they will remember the brand!

    Destination Infinity

  3. this is so interesting , I have just a week ago concluded my equality and diversity course and submitted my work on it .. awaiting results

    but I think it is all tricks of the trade and YES there is a huge gap of inequality between male and female… which has to be questioned ..

I would love to hear from you!!!

