Memories Reservoir

Some quirky conversations between Dheer and me:

One evening I was teaching Dheer opposites and my question to him:

Amma: “What is the opposite of light?” (Expecting him to say heavy)

Dheer:  “Opposite of light is fan, because both of them have different switches”

Proud mommy!!! I could not stop but give him a tight hug for his lateral thinking. (At least I assumed so)

*****************************

Another such conversation:

Dheer: “Are you a boy or a girl?”

Amma: “What do you think?”

Dheer: “I think you are a girl”

Amma: “Why do you think so?”

Dheer: “Because you laugh a lot and only girls laugh, boys wont”

Surprised Mommy!!!

*****************************

After listening to the famous Thirsty Crow story, a sudden thought popped up:

Dheer: “Amma, why does not the crow drink the water with a straw? Why is it looking for stones?”

Amma silenced though I tried convincing him with some weird answers I could think of.

*****************************

On one occasion, Dheer noticed the mehendi on my hands and said:

“If  you asked me, I would have colored your hands with a crayon. Why did you waste your time yesterday?”

Alright boss!!! I never asked you

*****************************

I am sure we parents have innumerable number of such encounters. I am making an attempt to capture them and build the memories. They say memories are the only things that remain and so, I am trying to make ours.

Five religious practices I follow to ensure that the memories are preserved and Dheer’s childhood is made memorable :

Photographs:  Photos are always an inseparable part of my life. I have captured every action he made, every occasion, every moment in the form of a photograph. You must be wondering what distinct about this. Yeah, I am coming to the point. I printed albums year on year.I have the same kind of albums from the day he was in my womb. Trust me, he so enjoys peeking into these albums once in a while.

Conversation Journal: I maintain a conversation journal. All the funny conversations we had, the smart moves he made, the  physical and mental endurance tests I have gone through by being readily cranky and many other instances are all noted. Some of them are blogged too.

Email Address: This is an idea I discovered from the great internet. I created an email address for Dheer and write letters to him. I share some random pictures we clicked, I write on how cranky he has been at restaurants, how helping he has been at home and many such incidents. I have also written how he helped me to get a new saree by spilling an entire cup of hot coffee on my silk saree. I hope when he grows up to read these letters, he would certainly enjoy reading them all.

Video: All his art and crafts done at school, at home, his report cards, his prize in running race are all captured and made as a video. I plan to make it an yearly practice and share it with him when he grows up to enjoy them all.

Hand prints: This has been a long pending wish of mine. I would be making imprints of his cute little hands and legs and preserve them. This is a DIY project and so the delay.

I am sure  all the parents reading this have some unique interesting ways to preserve your child’s memories. Would love to hear your ideas.

“I am participating in the ‘Ready For Rewards’ activity for Rewardme in association with BlogAdda.”

I have chosen the section Child and You. Please click here to read more on this section.

 

7 thoughts on “Memories Reservoir

  1. Internet and Technology have made our lives so easier and fun, when i read these points. I am sure Dheer would cherish these memories for his lifetime.

    The conversations show his innocence; on the light, my answer would have been dark 🙂

  2. Shilpa Garg says:

    Dheer is a very smart boy. Love the way he thinks. A conversation journal is a super cool idea. It is going to be a cherished and priceless treasure for all of you as you grow old.

I would love to hear from you!!!

